Meet the team working and collaborating with the Schnell Lab. Our team embodies physiologists, biophysicists, engineers, and mathematical scientists, working on lively and multidisciplinary teams with other research groups within the university, the USA and abroad.

If you are interested in joining the lab, please visit this page.

Principal Investigator

Santiago Schnell

Photo of Santiago Schnell

215 Jordan Hall of Science
Lisa Mercurio
Book appointment
(574) 631-6456


Lic., Biology, Universidad Simón Bolívar, 1997

D.Phil., Mathematical Biology, University of Oxford, 2003


Santiago Schnell is the William K. Warren Foundation Dean of the College of Science and Professor of Biological Sciences at the University of Notre Dame. He is also Professor in the Department of Applied and Computational Mathematics and Statistics. Dr. Schnell's research program departs from the premise that there is a continuum between health and disease; if we are capable of measuring this continuum, we will be in the position of detecting disease earlier and understanding it better to intervene more precisely. His research focuses on two broad areas: (i) the development of standard-methods to obtain high quality measurements in the biomedical sciences and scientometrics, and (ii) the development of mathematical models of complex biomedical systems with the goal of identifying the key mechanisms underlying the behavior of the system as a whole.

Dr. Schnell is currently serving as Editor-in-Chief of Mathematical Biosciences, and is member of the "Standards for Reporting Enzymology Data" (STRENDA) Commission. Prior joining the University of Notre Dame, he served in a number of leadership positions at the University of Michigan, Indiana University, and international academic societies and coallisions. He has received numerous national and international awards for his research, service and teaching contributions. For more details, you can read a short bibliography or his vitae.


Short Bio CV Google Scholar GitHub Math Genealogy Tree

Graduate Students

Isabella Gimon

Photo of Isabella Gimon

328 Galvin Life Science Center


BS., Biology & Applied Sciences (major)
Computer Science & Chemistry (minor), Florida International University, 2021


Isabella Gimon is a graduate student in The Integrated Biomedical Sciences Graduate Program at the University of Notre Dame. She is using rule-based and agent-based models to study protein aggregation. Protein aggregation has been correlated with many neurodegenerative diseases such as Huntington's disease and Alzheimer's. Protein aggregation may begin at a conformational state or by a monomeric protein. The outcome is extremely deleterious for any organism since it prevents a protein from acquiring its functional state. Rule-based models uses a set of rules translated into, among other things, a set of ordinary differential equations. Over the last decade, both types of models have had a far-reaching effect in the biomedical sciences, mainly in accommodating complex problems seen in vivo and easily reflecting those in a model. Using rule-based models to study protein aggregation, Isabella is investigating the processes that leads to aggregation.


  1. Marisa Conte

    Marisa Conte

    University of Michigan

  2. Kojo Elenitoba-Johnson

    Kojo Elenitoba-Johnson

    University of Pennsylvania

  3. Hesso Farhan

    Hesso Farhan

    Medical University of Innsbruck

  4. Chi-Kuo Hu

    Chi-Kuo Hu

    Stony Brook University

  5. Paul Kulesa

    Paul Kulesa

    Stowers Institute for Medical Research

  6. Megan Lim

    Megan Lim

    University of Pennsylvania

  7. Allen Liu

    Allen Liu

    University of Michigan

  8. Philip Maini

    Philip K. Maini

    University of Oxford

  9. Suzanne Moenter

    Suzanne Moenter

    University of Michigan

  10. Yoichi Osawa

    Yoichi Osawa

    University of Michigan

  11. Jürgen Pleiss

    Jürgen Pleiss

    University of Stuttgart

  12. Yonatan Savir

    Yonatan Savir

    Technion Israel Institute of Technology

  13. Matthias Truttmann

    Matthias Truttmann

    University of Michigan

  14. Sebastian Walcher

    Sebastian Walcher

    RWTH Aachen

  15. Nils Walter

    Nils Walter

    University of Michigan

  16. Ulrike Wittig

    Ulrike Wittig

    Heidelberg Institute for Theoretical Studies